WGTB Golf Days Out Final

The Old Firm Rule On Great Finals Day

WITHINGTON Golf Club provided a fantastic venue for the 2016 WGTB Days Out final.

Their club has hosted several top regional competitions during the year and their class shone through both on and off the course to provide a fitting stage for the drama of the Days Out final sponsored again by Slater Heelis Solicitors for the 14th successive season.

The other major sponsor was Gary Butler of Etiqus Distinctive Timepieces with two of his top class watched being the main prize for the winners of the Days Out Qualifiers.

Charles Beadle & Tony Gregory


Display Their Prizes Of Etiqus Timepieces


Gary has also worked closely with WGTB over the previous six months in running a raffle to support the Golf Foundation and it has raised a great sum of £500 which will be donated to the Golf Foundation.

The lucky raffle ticket was drawn out by Withington captain Clive Allen and the lucky winner was John Howarth of Saddleworth Golf club who won a superb Etiqus timepiece.

There was a tremendous competition for the main prizes of Etiqus Timepieces and it was won in style by the regular ‘old firm’ of Tony Gregory (Stockport) and Charles Beadle (Bramhall) with a huge score of 47 points, the highest posted during the Days Out season.

Hot on their heels in the Qualifiers section were Northop Hall duo Barry Harmes and Keith Turner, who won a round for four at the fabulous Prestbury Golf Club, with 46 points followed Denton stars Dave Kenyon and Alan Painter with 45.

The Mike Brennan Trophy for best four aggregate scores was won by Tam Donnelly (Northenden) and Mark Hughes (Blackley) with 175 points from Ken Ashford (Woodside) and Steve Rayer (Tytherington) 168.


Alan Simmons & Barry Wynter


Then it was down to the Day Prizes which were led in by Alan Simmons and Didsbury President Barry Wynter with 46 points, followed by Ged Wilkinson and Billy Woodward (Vicars Cross) 43, Ken Wardle and John Lewis (Vicars Cross) 42 and Alan Roberts (Vicars Cross) and Jon Roberts (Market Drayton) 42 and Terry Dallimore and Steve McDermott (Ellesmere and Turton) 41.

Nearest the pin prizes were taken by Simon Howarth (Disley) and Ged Wilkinson with Disley President Geoff Gable winning the Shortest Drive Trophy for his 30-yarder off the first tee.


Geoff Gable The Disley President With His Prize For The Shortest Drive At The First To The Delight Of Passed Winners Chris Davies & Mike Jones



47 T Gregory and C Beadle, 46 A Simmons and B Wynter, K Turner and B Harmes, 45 D Kenyon and A Painter, 43 G Wilknson and B Woodward, 42 K Wardle and J Lewis, A and J Roberts, 41 S McDermott and T Dallimore, P Gibson and D Helm, 40 S Misell and S Howarth, K Ashford and S Rayer, J Crowder and K Nadin, 39 D Booth and M Wilson. S Netherwood and J Wheeler, 37 R Schofield and A Sharmer, G Hammond and C Fielden, D McDonald and J Drabble, P Williams and G Pierce, 36 M Jones and C Davies, 35, G Garnett and G Gable, C Parkington and E Lunt, I Matthews and K McAllister, 34 T Donnelly, T and N Chaplin, D Chesworth and D Holland, 31 M Roscoe and R Long, B Jones and M Todd, S Merricks, 30 A Dunn and S Cummings, T Cook.


Return To News Desk