WGTB Menís Days Out at Saddleworth

Sponsored by Quiligotti Tiles

Hopwood Pair Set Saddleworth On Fire

THE final qualifier for the WGTB Menís Days Out final had a truly spectacular venue at sunny Saddleworth Golf Club.

One of the highest golf courses in England is blessed by magnificent views and the club provided a great course, top class service in the clubhouse and a warm welcome from all of the staff and members.

Andrew Quiligotti was a great sponsor on the day and his two teams of four players enjoyed their experience, particularly Phil Wardle who finished with six points more than his dad Ken.

Winners with sponsor Andy Quiligotti


The superb day for golf provided plenty of inspiration for a full field with a string of top scores coming in throughout the day.

Worsley Golf Clubís Dave Wright and Eddie Mellor looked to have secured top spot as they won a late cpo on 46 points from Heaton Moor winners Tam Donnelly and Mark Hughes but as always happens there was a big sting in the tail from the last group out on the course.

It came from Manchester Golf Clubís Darren Booth and Mark Timperley who posted one of the highest scores ever in WGTB competitions and left the rest of the field for dead.

The highlight was an eagle three on the par five 14th hole from Darren and the dynamic duo added three more birdies along the way for a magnificent victory.

Nearest the pin prizes went to Mike Roscoe and Dave Wright and there eight Twos.

Craig Armstrong won the free raffle to complete a great competition enjoyed by all.


Scores- 51 D Booth and M Timperley, 46 D Wright and E Mellor, T Donnelly and M Hughes, 45 G Wilkinson and K Sutton, T Gregory and C Beadle,44 S McDermott and T Dallimore, 43 P Booth and D Leonard, 42 K Ashford and S Rayer, 41 T and N Chaplin, R Houlton and G Ward, 40, P Livesey and P Wardle, 39 D Mathews and K McAllister, G Garnett and E McCray, 38 D Mulrenan and D Rushton, M Tyrell and S Netherwood, 37 A Simmons and I Hornsby, 36 C Armstrong and M Savage, A Quiligotti and M Nolan, M Roscoe and R Long, S Wood and R Schofield, G and S Howarth, D Kenyon and A Painter, P Grimsley and T Watson, 34 M Aberfield and P Willoughby, P Rodgers and T Marshall, K Wardle and D Deuval, 33 S Laing and E Waugh, M Westbrook and C Dews, J Unsworth and B Griffin, A Dunn and J Howarth.

Mike Brennan Aggregate Trophy



Return To News Desk