WGTB Days Out 2018 at Withington Golf Club

Vicars Cross duo show their intent

THE 2018 WGTB Days Out season got off to a great start at sun-blessed Withington Golf Club who were their usual superb hosts both on and off the course.

After six months of weather inviting trench foot it was a pleasure to play on firm dry fairways in wall-to-wall sunshine and enjoy the great camaraderie that the long running Days Out have brought to so many golfers over the past 20 years.

The early pace was set by Days Out stalwarts Mike Jones (Bramhall) and Chris Davies (Whalley) who combined superbly to post 44 points and the only challenges throughout most of the day came from Len Walker and Phil Beard (Denton) 43 and Ken Rashford (Woodside) and Steve Rayer (Tytherington) 41.

Ged Wilkinson and Ken Sutton with their prizes


But as always there was the usual sting in the tail as the consistent Vicars Cross duo of Ken Sutton and Ged Wilkinson took the top spot with 45 points.

Also in the prizes were Mark Hughes (Blackley) and Tam Donnelly (Northenden) who booked their final qualifiers slot with 40 points.

Nearest the pin prizes went to Paul Grimsley (Pike Fold) who finished an inch from the pin on the fourth hole and Dave Wright who won the nearest the pin in two on the 15th.

The Shortest Drive provided great humour for Glossop Caravans as Brian Laing topped his tee shot on the first hole and was ’delighted’ to be presented with the trophy and a suitable prize by young Cheshire and Withington junior star Ben Currie.

Dave Kenyon won the free raffle and balls for ‘Twos’ went to John Gough, John Hassett, Paul Grimsley, Tam Donnelly, Ged Wilkinson and Steve McDermott.


 Brian Laing receives the Shortest Drive Trophy from Ben Currie to the delight of his playing partners



45 G Wilkinson and K Sutton, 44 M Jones and C Davies, 43 L Walker and P Beard, 41 K Ashford and S Reyer, 40, T Donnelly and M Hughes, B Thomas and R Glaister, 39 R Battye and M Withers, T and N Chaplin, I Matthews and K McAllister, T Gregory and C Beadle, 38 D Kenyon and A Painter, S Neersoo and T Phillips, J Chadwick and C Mears, 37 M Roscoe and R Long, P Grimsley and T Watson, B McNeil and A Rothwell, J Essex and C Etherington, J Gough and A Wordsworth, 36 G Jenkinson and J Hassett, S McDermott and T Dallimore, D Wright and K Dyer, A Simmons and L Cunningham, 35 C Armstrong and M Savage, M Westbrook and C Dews, 34 R Houlton and G Ward, 33 G Garnett and J Reynolds, 31 A Dunn and S Cummings, K Wardle and E Molloy, G Hammond and P Mooney, P Rodgers and S Netherwood, 30 S Laing and E Waugh, 27 D Chesworth and B Laing, 20 W Jones and S Howarth.


Return To News Desk