WGTB Days Out at Macclesfield Golf Club


Turton Terrier shows his class

WGTB enjoyed a superb day at Macclesfield Golf Club with unbroken sunshine, lightning greens, a challenging course, fantastic views across seven counties and a warm welcome and service off course throughout the day with the presentation in the Jamie Donaldson Room.

The event was sponsored by Andy Quilligotti, a regular supporter and player of WGTB competitions whose efforts are much appreciated.

The challenge of the Macc course saw an unusually high number of low scores but as always class is permanent with a late flurry of good scores coming in.

They were led by the WGTB regulars Steve McDermott and Terry Dallimore with an excellent and untouchable haul of 45 points.


 Terry Dallimore & Steve McDermott with sponsor Andy Quilligotti


The hilly nature of the Macc course suited eight-handicapper Steve, groomed at his high altitude course at Turton, and he bravely defied his recent arm problems with a terrific back nine featuring some great putting.

As always he was given solid support by his reliable partner Terry to cruise to victory, two shots clear of North Manchester’s Joe and Vincent Brennan.

Welsh dragons Terry and Nigel Chaplin won a cpo on 42 points from Paul Dransfield and Paul Dalton to complete the main prize list.


Making up the qualifiers for the Race to Haydock Park were Eddie Mellor and Dave Wright, Ged Wilkinson and Ken Sutton and Mike Jones and Chris Davies.

Chris was also ‘delighted’ to win the Shortest Drive Trophy with his one blip of the day from the first tee and was presented with the trophy by Macc Captain Rod Price and debutant playing opponent Ray Howell, who lost at least eight balls during his round.

Nearest the pin prizes were won by Roy Ainsworth and Ged Wilkinson and Two's balls were taken by Stan Laing, Ian Matthews and Mike Westbrook with Ron Long wining the Free raffle.

 Chris Davies ‘enjoys’ receiving the Shortest Drive Trophy from Macc Captain Rod Price (left) and Ray Howell

Scores: 45 S McDermott and T Dallimore, 43 J and V Brennan, 42 T and N Chaplin, P Dransfield and P Dalton, 41 D Wright and E Mellor, 39 G Wilkinson and K Sutton, 38 C Beadle and C Snape, M Jones and C Davies, 37 J Unsworth and B Griffin, P Grimsley and T Watson, G Hammond and P Mooney, 36 A Simmons and M Westbrook, 34 R Ainsworth and D McConville, M Roscoe and M Long, S Laing and R Thorman, 33 A Quilligotti and P Wardle, 31 I Matthews and K McAllister, 29 G Garnett and R Howell, K Wardle and E Molloy, 28 N Day and J Sandford, 26 S Netherwood and P Rodgers, S Howarth and B Hindle.

Return To News Desk